It is sometimes hard having a friend with dementia

It is sometimes hard having a friend with dementia

Are any of these your experiences?

  • It’s sad seeing the change in her and I want to remember her as she was.
  • I worry about what he might say or do.
  • My friend doesn’t seem to know who I am or thinks I’m someone else.
  • It’s embarrassing for me and my friend.
  • I feel guilty that my friend is like that and I’m not.
  • I don’t want to give anyone extra work by visiting.
  • My friend talks about people who’ve died as if they were still alive.
  • I don’t know how to help.
  • I’m worried about being accused of something I haven’t done.
  • I am worried that I will get dementia myself.
  • I never know whether my friend will be having a good day or a bad day.
  • It’s hard to hear this person I knew well speaking nonsense.
  • I don’t know what to say to the family.

Leave a Reply

