A MAD WORLD-CHAPTER 1- A VERY TRUE STORY

lifeA  MAD WORLD-IT IS A STRANGE STATEMEN IT IS NOT THE WORLD THAT IS MAD BUT MAYBE THE PEOPLE IN IT.I WAS NEVER ANYTHING SPECIAL IN LIFE,NO GREAT CLAIMS TO FAME. I WAS BORN AT THE END OF THE 50,S ALMOST INTO THE SWINGING SIXTIES.MY MAM TELLS ME A GYPSY LADY TOLD HER  I WAS TO BEAUTIFUL A BABY TO LIVE IN THIS WORLD,OBVIOUSLY IF I WAS EVER THAT BEAUTIFUL I GROW OUT OF IT LOL. MY CLAIM TO FAME WAS THAT THE LATE GREAT BRIAN CLOUGH  NURSED ME AS A BABY-NOW THAT FOR ME IS SOMETHING I WILL CHERISH FOREVER. NOW BACK TO THE GYPSY LADY AFTER MY MAM TOLD ME THAT STORY FOR THE THOUSENTH TIME OR SO AND AS I GROW,I OFTEN WONDERED IF SHE WAS RIGHT AND ACTUALLY I HAD DIED AS A BABY AND GOT LOST ON THE WAY TO HEAVEN AND ENDED UP IN A VERY HOT AND VOLOTILE PLACE. I WAS THE OLDEST OF FIVE CHILDREN,NOTHING SPECIAL THERE BUT AGAIN AS I GROW OLDER BEING THE ELDEST ALSO BROUGHT ITS OWN PRESSURES.MY MAM A LOVING CARING PARENT  BUT HO  SUCH A TEMPER,CROSSED HER AT YOUR PERIL IN THOSE DAYS. MY DAD WHAT A BLOKE  LOVING YES CONSISTENT WITH HIS LOVE -NOT A CHANCE.HE WORKED AT BRITISH STEEL IN THE DAYS YOU COULD PACK YOUR JOB IN ON THE FRIDAY GET YOUR HOLIDAY PAY ETC AND START ON ANOTHER PLANT AT BRITISH STEEL ON THE MONDAY. FANTASTIC THE EXTRA MONEY EXTRA HOLIDAYS-WELL NOT FOR  HIS FAMILY BUT GREAT FOR MR  BETTING SHOP AND MR PUB.THE NUMBER  OF TIMES MY MAM WENT TO MEET HIM FROM WORK TO TRY AND GET HIS WAGES OFF HIM BUT HE GOT SMART AND SNEAKED OUT OF ANOTHER EXIT TO PLEASE HIS REAL  FAMILY MR BOOKMAKER AND MR BREWERY,MY MAM LOVED HIM BUT NEVER WAS HE GOING TO BE FAITHFUL NOT WITH THE BOOKIES AND PUBS FAMILY ABOUT. MY CHILDHOOD I AM THINKING WAS LIKE MANY OTHER CHILDREN CHILDREN IN THAT ERA SO I NEVER THOUGHT I HAD A TOUGH LIFE,WE HAD A ROOF OVER OUR HEADS WELL MOSTLY ANY WAY,A MAM WHO LOVED  US SO VERY MUCH AND A DAD WHO WAS A PARENT IN  NAME ONLY. AT ABOUT 7 YEARS OF AGE I STARTEDTO LAY   UPSTAIRS  ON THE LANDING LISTENING,WAITING,HOPING,PRAYING BUT  THE VAST MAJORITY OF THE TIME IN FACT PROBABLY 6 OR 7 NIGHTS A WEEK MY PRAYRES  OBVIOUSLY WHERE LOST SOMEWHERE.I WAS NOT BITTER BY THAT BUT JUST LISTENED,BANG THATS THE FRONT DOOR GETTING SLAMMED THEN VOICES STARTING TO GET LOUDER AND FAR MORE AGGRESSIVE THEN SLAP A SCREAM THINGS GETTING KNOCKED OVER CRASH A PLATE HITS THE WALL-MORE SCREAMING THEN SILENCE,THAT WAS THE WORSE PART THOSE  LONG  LOUD SO VERY LOUD SILENCES.I WANTED TO GO DOWN STAIRS TO SEE IF THEY WHERE BOTH STILL ALIVE BUT I NEVER HAD THE COURAGE  AT THE TIME BUT THAT WAS GOING TO COME. THEN SCREAMS AND SHOUTS START AGAIN -WHAT A BEAUTIFUL NOISE TO HEAR I COULD BREATH AGAIN BUT THE THE TEARS JUST CARRIED ON STREAMING DOWN MY SMALL BUT VERY GAUNT FACE.THIS WOULD GO ON FOR HOURS ,THEN ONE OR BOTH WOULD START TO WALK UP THE STAIRS,SO QUICK BACK INTO BED FOR ME PRETENDING TO BE FAST ASLEEP AS MY MAM CAME IN THE BEDROOM AND GAVE ME A KISS ON THE CHEEKS GOODNIGHT SON THANK THE LORD YOU NEVER HEARD ANY OF THIS SHE WOULD SAY AND REPEAT THE SAME TO MY BOTHERS AND SISTERS. ITS  A STRANGE IF NOT MAD WORLD MANY A TIME WE WHERE ALMOST STARVING,JAM AND BREAD FOR TEA AND THE JAM WAS A TREAT.TWO BAGS OF CHIPS FROM THE FISH SHOP OWNED BY GREEKS BETWEEN MY MAM AND THE FIVE OF US WHILE DAD WAS OUT GETTING HIS FILL OF GOOD OLD BEER.THE REASON I MENTIONED THE FISH SHOP WAS OWNED BY GREEKS WAS FOR THIER GREAT  KINDNESS AND UNDERSTANDING,ALWAYS EXTRA CHIPS FOR US AND  THAT MEANT SO MUCH TO ME,IT MEANT MAYBE WE WOULD BE A LITTLE LESS  HUNGRY FOR A LONGER TIME. THE  WORSE  THING FOR ME AS A CHILD  IS NOT WHAT I HAVE ALREADY TALKED ABOUT IT WAS BEING SENT TO MY NANAS AND GRANDADS TO BORROW MONEY SO MY MAM COULD JUST ABOUT KEEP US LIVING WITH A ROOF OVER OUR HEAD AND SOME FOOD WHEN POSSIBLE.I FELT GUILTY I WAS NINE,NEARLY TEN AND I FELT LIKE I SHOULD BE DOING MORE AND I KNEW THE MONEY WOULD NEVER GET PAID BACK .ONE  NIGHT THE SCREAMING AND SHOUTING STOPPED NOT LIKE USUAL BUT JUST SILENCE  THAT WAS SO LOUD I KNEW THIS WAS MY TIME TO ACT.I CREPT DOWN THE STAIRS LISTENING FOR ANY SOUND AT ALL BUT NONE CAME JUST THAT DEAFENING SILENCE.I PAUSED AT THE LIVING ROOM DOOR PUTTING MY EAR TO IT AND HOPING AND PRAYING FOR EVEN THE NOISE OF THEM FIGHTING AGAIN BUT THERE WAS NONE.I PLUCKED UP THE COURAGE TO STEP INTO THE LIVING ROOM,I DID NOT WANT TO GO IN BUT I DID,I SAW MY MAM SITTING ON THE SETTEE HOLDING HER HAND OVER ONE EYE BLOOD STREAMING FROM HER MOUTH AND THEN I SAW HIM(DAD)SMIRKING AT ME AND SNARLING WHAT THE F–K DO YOU WANT,I SNAPPED AND RAN TOWARDS HIM I WAS A TEN YEAR OLD MAN .HE SNIGGERED AND I FELT HIS FIST IN MY FACE,I FELL TO THE GROUND AND I DID SEE STARS FOLLOWED BY DARKNESS,I KNOW I HEARD MY MAM SCREAM AND THEN DARKNESS,PEACE,QUIET NO SCREAMS JUST A BLISSFUL SILENCE. I REMEMBER COMING TO WITH MY MAM CRADLING MY HEAD IN HER ARMS AND HER TEARS STREAMING ONTO MY FACE,I SAW HIM HOLDING MY HAND AND I FELT SICK .I WAS A MAN AND ONE DAY-HO YES ONE DAY HE WOULD KNOW JUST HOW  MUCH OF A MAN THIS TEN YEAR OLD BOY WAS.I WAS KEPT OFF SCHOOL FOR WEEKS,IT WOULD NEVER DO FOR A TEACHER TO ASK WHY MY FACE WAS SO BRUISED  AND SWOOLEN BUT MY DAY WILL COME.

One response to “A MAD WORLD-CHAPTER 1- A VERY TRUE STORY

Leave a Reply

